The private driver offers tailor-made tours to his clients. If you live in Florida and want to practice this trade, you must meet the conditions that the state requires. It is also essential to master Florida regulations for private drivers.
The conditions for driving as a private driver in Florida
To drive in Florida as a private driver, you must have a Class E driver’s license. This document is obtained by meeting the following conditions:
- be at least 16 years old;
- take a vision and hearing test;
- provide proof of identity and all other required documents;
- take a special drug and alcohol awareness course;
- pass the driving skills test for Class E licenses.
Also, additional requirements may apply. For example, you must hold a learner’s permit for at least 12 months or until the age of 18, if you are under that age. In addition, you must not have committed a traffic violation within 12 months of the date you received your learner’s permit. You must also have 50 hours of driving experience, including at least 10 hours of night driving. Use your learner’s license driving log to track your hours. Not to mention that you must provide a parental form attesting to your experience.
Passing the Class E codes exam is a prerequisite for obtaining your Florida driver’s license. This is the same exam as the learner’s permit test. The exam covers the Florida State Highway Traffic Act. It is sometimes called a written test, but these are multiple-choice questions. You must achieve a score of at least 80%, 40 correct questions out of 50, to pass. The official Florida Driver’s License Handbook contains everything you need to know to successfully pass the test.
The Florida Driving Test, also known as the Class E Driving Test. This driving test must be supervised by a driving examiner. It covers skills like having good driving posture, doing signaling and turning exercises, staying on track, etc.
Documents to provide to be a private driver in Florida
Once you have obtained your driver’s license, you must provide the following documents:
- proof of identification;
- two proof of residential address;
- proof of social security number.
Your proof of identity can be an original birth certificate, a state-issued copy of your birth certificate, or a US passport.
For your proof of residential address, you can provide an invoice with your address or a school transcript from the current school year that shows your address. If you do not have these documents, submit an address certification form. In addition, provide two proofs of address from a parent, step-parent, legal guardian, or someone you live with.
As for your proof of social security number, it can be replaced by your social security card or a W-2 tax form with your social security number.